NOTE: Blimey! is no longer being updated. Please visit for the latest updates about my comics work.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Spirit of Hope now available for pre-order

No one could have failed to have been moved by the tragic earthquakes in New Zealand and Japan earlier this year, and by the tsunami which devastated large areas of Japan. In March, Tim Pilcher of the Comic Book Alliance put the call out to the comics community for contributions for a new charity comic book to raise funds to hopefully help those shattered communities in whatever small way it could.

Numerous comics creators quickly responded to the call, giving their services for free to donate brand new pages for the project. Spirit of Hope is its title and the book will feature 116 pages showcasing an amazing variety of styles. Overseeing the project is Alan Cowsill, an experienced editor known for his work at Marvel UK and, more recently, on the Marvel and DC Figurine Collection partworks.

Spirit of Hope is now available for pre-order. There are two covers to choose from. One by Jimmy Broxton:

The other by Mike Allred:

Here's the impressive list of contributors in no particular order:

Peter Hogan
Adrian Bamforth
Richmond Clements
Gary Spencer Millidge
Al Davison
Leonie O’Moore
Glenn Dakin
Darick Roberston (art shown here:)

Jason Atomic
Neil Roberts
Liam Sharpe
Jim Campbell
Michiru Morikawa
Rob Williams
Declan Shalvey
Jordie Bellaire
Brandon DeStefano
Leigh Gallagher
Nick Abadzis
Martin Eden
Alan Cowsill
John Ross
Maria Pickering
Gary Gilbert
Ant Jones
Grant Perkins
Eva Perkins
Geoffrey D. Wessel
Henry Flint
Emma Flint
David Leach
Glenn B Flemming
Al Ewing
Gary Erskine
Si Spencer
Jessica Kemp
Mark Buckingham (art shown here:)

Matt Gibbs
James Reekie
Chris Western
Martin Conaghan
Vicky Stonebridge
Paul McLaren
Sean Michael Wilson
Michiru Morkawa
Ant Williams
Rich Johnston
Mike Collins
Jason Cobley
Andrew Wildman
Steve Tanner
Graeme Howard
Benjamin Dickson
Martyn Pick
Alan Grant
Kev Hopgood
Paul H Birch
Gary Crutchley
Mats Engesten
Yel Zamor
John Robbins
S Thompson
Donna Barr
Jasper Bark
Vicky Stonebridge
Al Davison
Jon Haward
David Pugh
Nigel Lowrey
Tony Lee
Dan Boultwood
Ciaran Lucas
Lew Stringer
Simon Colby
Akiko Shimojima (supported by Sean Micheal Wilson) (art shown here:)

Natalie Abadzis
GM Jordan
Alex Moore

Copies of the book can now be ordered in advance at £14.99 + £3.00 p&p. Please state your preference of cover - Jimmy Broxton or Michael Allred. Advance orders will be sent out and will hopefully include 3 small limited edition prints of the covers and an extra picture. The address is: The Comic Book Alliance, PO Box 165, Marple, Cheshire SK6 7BL. Cheques & Postal Orders should be made out to 'The Comic Book Alliance'.

Having seen a preview of all the pages a few weeks ago I can safely say it is a stunning publication featuring a mixture of comic strips and full page illustrations. I'm very proud to be a part of it.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...